On 2016 and my hopes for next year

The start of the new year is often time for reflection and new year’s resolutions. An opportunity to start afresh, to assess and set new goals.

I learnt long ago that unrealistic resolutions aren’t for me. Usually centred upon vast weight loss, they were not sustainable and often made me feel miserable at a time of year where we are short on daylight and money post-Christmas, which is hard enough.

So my 2016 resolution was simple – to be kinder to myself. The last few months of 2015 were challenging. I was back to work full time from maternity leave and learning to (try) to balance work with being a mum of two. My son moved schools, our beloved cat died suddenly and we moved house three weeks before Christmas in the midst of my husband’s accountancy exams and a work trip to Edinburgh and a few days before our son’s fourth birthday. 

This maelstrom of chaos led me to skip my exercise classes and eat way more than I should so I started    2016 feeling unfit and awful. So I joined a lovely gym, bought a Fitbit and started walking on my lunch breaks wherever possible.

At the start of the year, as well as moving more I was eating less so I lost 8lbs and felt good for it. I actually found that my cravings for treats reduced, which was brilliant. 

But I ate way more than I should have on holiday in June and I never really got back to my eating less mantra. 

I love food. It’s my comfort when I’m stressed or celebrating, sad or happy. I have had a love/hate relationship with my weight and food since I was a teenager, but my comfort eating has reached new levels since becoming a mum. We get up with our children at 5.30am every single day and between work, studying, exercise and being a mum, I’m usually too tired around the edges to resist chocolate. 

But things cannot stay this way. My jeans are tight and I don’t like the way I look. I haven’t stepped on the scales for months as I know I’ll hate what I see. So, for 2017, I want to stay on track with moving more and get back on track with eating less.

As sad and embarrassed as I feel about my shape at the moment, I am proud of my fitness achievements this year. 

  • I have been to the gym (classes or swimming) between 3 and 5 times a week consistently throughout the year.
  • I have started yoga again and have mastered the plough, a crab and the crow (for a millisecond admittedly).
  • I can survive and enjoy spin class after trying it for the first time this year (I thought I was going to be sick in my first class). 
  • I have kept challenging myself to try different classes at my gym from body pump to circuits to Clubbercise so I don’t get bored.
  • I have done at least 10,000 steps a day on most days of 2016.

I have also been kinder to myself in other ways including joining a choir, reading more and taking up my long-held ambition of blogging.

So, bring it on 2017. I hope to eat less and keep moving more as well as continuing to be kind to myself as much as any mum can be.

I also had a rather awesome Christmas present – a line a day journal – which I plan to start tomorrow.


Happy New Year all! Let’s hope it’s a good one.

What are your ambitions for 2017? I’d love to know.

2 thoughts on “On 2016 and my hopes for next year

Leave a Reply

